Copyright law and policy intersect with many other areas of practice. Check out the topics below to learn more. Don't see what you're looking for? Search Search Center, the Biddle Law Library's online catalog, to find more print and electronic sources.
Art law incorporates not only intellectual property, but also contracts, licensing, international law, moral rights and many other areas of practice--all of which impact the creation, exhibition, transfer and sale of artworks.
Law, Ethics and the Visual Arts 5th Edition by
Since its first edition in 1979, Law, Ethics and the Visual Arts established itself as the leading art law text among law professors, students, and practitioners. This new and newly illustrated, fifth edition, revised in collaboration with Stephen K. Urice, incorporates recent changes in treaty, statutory, and case law. It includes discussion of recent developments from the resurgence of iconoclasm to military conflicts' depredations on cultural property. As in earlier editions, the authors present legal issues in their historical contexts. The broad range of topics addressed in the 5th edition, makes the text especially adaptable for use in multiple classroom settings. These topics include: U.S. museums' return of works of art and antiquities to claimants such as Holocaust survivors and foreign nations Artist's rights such as copyright and moral rights International movement of art and antiquities Fakes and forgeries in the art market The inner workings of art auctions Plundering and destruction of works of art in times of war and military conflict Censorship of obscene or politically challenging works of art And many more In this edition, documents previously presented in a separate documentary appendix have been integrated into the text to provide immediate access to important treaties and other materials. Whether you need to understand something as provocative as who owns the past, or something as mundane as whether a museum can sell a work of art to fix the roof, Law, Ethics and the Visual Arts provides the information you need. It combines unassailable scholarship with a deeply humanistic approach, recognizing that law and art each andquot;impose a measure of order on the disorder of experience without stifling the underlying diversity, spontaneity, and disarrayandquot; (Paul Freund).
"Cultural property" refers to a broad category of man-made objects and artifacts, including ethnographical, architectural, historical, and archeological materials, artworks, writings, furniture, coins, etc.--anything that embodies the culture of a group. The law of cultural property overlaps with intellectual property in several aspects, and implicates many common actors, such as museums, collectors and governments.
Cultural Property Law by
Crossing into many disciplines, cultural property law continues to grow as an established area of practice and study. Now completely updated, Cultural Property Law: A Practitioner's Guide to the Management, Protection, and Preservation of Heritage Resources provides an accessible and objective overview of all major components of an interdisciplinary legal practice that extends from government and tribal management of land to federal underwater resource management to the national and international laws governing museums and the arts marketplace. This practical, balanced, and clearly written guide: - Identifies the components of the area of practice, offering a guide to their application in legal practice- Follows the primary practice areas in the field, highlighting the laws and controlling cases that apply to the practice area identified in each chapter- Provides frequently asked questions for each area of practice- Covers recent cases, regulations, and laws in the field, as well as a discussion of evolving legal concepts and an expanded treatment of emerging areas in the practice, and more Topics are organized by the primary practice areas in the field: - Federal management - State, local, and private management - Tribal management - Federal management of underwater cultural property - Museum administration and collections management - Cultural property in the marketplace - International laws
Cultural Property - A Legal Research Guide by
This guide contains information on primary law, secondary resources and non-legal resources relating to cultural property. It includes listings of international conventions with annotations, and also contains information on non-governmental organizations concerned with cultural property and ethical codes that relate to the topic.--Publisher.
The Law of Cultural Property and Natural Heritage by Licensing is one of the primary ways for intellectual property owners to capitalize on their assets. It is crucial for transactional IP practitioners to understand how to read, draft and negotiate licenses.
This link opens in a new windowSoftware presents unique challenges to intellectual property law. In the United States and many other countries, software source and object code is primarily protected by copyright; however, some aspects of software also may be patentable. Consult these sources for an overview of software IP and transactional issues.
