Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives of Biddle Law Library preserves, promotes, and provides access to the archives of The American Law Institute (ALI), and the National Bankruptcy Archives (NBA), as well as a collection of rare books, manuscripts, and Penn Law historic records.

**Beginning 3/12/2020 Biddle Archives is canceling all on-site research visits until further notice and will have limited availability for remote research requests.

New Announcements

New Digital Exhibition

March 29, 2021

"Benchmark: Penn Law Women and the Federal Courts" highlights the careers of Penn Law alumnae who have served or are currently serving on the federal judicial court system.

To view this exhibition and more, click here.

 

 
National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of Richard Toder

October 24, 2017

Recorded on April 25, 2017, the oral history of Richard Toder is the newest addition to the American College of Bankruptcy’s Oral History Collection. The oral history was conducted by Bob Scheibe

Mr. Richard S. Toder is a former Partner in the Business and Finance Practice at the New York office of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP. He has represented major institutional creditors and committees in bankruptcy and restructuring cases throughout the nation for over thirty-five years. Recent representations include Iridium, where he represented The Chase Manhattan Bank, as agent for a syndicate of lenders owed $800 million, and Genesis Health Care, where he was counsel to Mellon Bank N.A., as agent for two lending groups owed $1.5 billion.

He has served as counsel for independent trustees in Chapter 11 cases and as a court-appointed Examiner. Mr. Toder was a Vice President and Fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy and a Conferee of the National Bankruptcy Conference. He previously served as an Assistant United States Attorney in the Southern District of New York. Mr. Toder has lectured extensively in all areas of bankruptcy for, among others, ABA, PLI, ALI-ABA, the Bar Association of the City of New York and NYLJ Seminars. Mr. Toder received his law degree, cum laude, from Harvard Law School in 1965 and his bachelor’s degree from Columbia College in 1962.

Previous Announcements

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of Honorable Randall J. Newsome

Recorded by Judge Michelle Harner on January 4, 2017, the oral history of Judge Randall J. Newsome is the newest addition to the National Bankruptcy Archives Oral History Collection. 

Hon. Randall Newsome (Ret.) successfully served as a mediator in hundreds of cases both as a full time neutral at Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services, Inc. (JAMS), as well during his 28 years as a settlement and bankruptcy judge.  He has handled both local and national matters involving complex bankruptcy and commercial issues, including claims of breach of contract, non-dischargeability, fraudulent transfer suits, mortgage fraud, employment discrimination, and lender liability. 

Judge Newsome was Chief Judge of the United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of California. He also previously served as a visiting judge in the Central District of California, the Western District of Washington, the District of Nevada, and the District of Arizona. Between 2001 and 2003, he was a visiting judge in the District of Delaware, where he presided over numerous complex matters.

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of David G. Heiman

The Oral History of David G. Heiman was conducted on March 22, 2017, by Judge Michelle Harner. 

David Heiman is currently a partner with Jones Day. He most recently led the City of Detroit chapter 9 case, the largest municipal bankruptcy in U.S. history. Other representative chapter 11 and out-of-court debtor representations include: Allied Stores/Federated Department Stores (also as acquirer of R.H. Macy), Alpha Natural Resources, NII Holdings, Boscov’s Department Stores, Burlington Industries, Cardinal Industries, Child World, Chrysler LLC, Imperial Home Decor Group, Kendavis Industries, LTV Steel, Oglebay Norton, Pillowtex, RadioShack,Tribune Companies, USG, and White Motor. He has advised acquirors of distressed assets, including American Greetings and WL Ross & Co., in the American Home Mortgage, Bethlehem Steel, Collins & Aikman, and Horizon National Resources matters.

David is past chair of the American College of Bankruptcy, currently co-chairs the Governance Advisory Board of the ABI Study on Chapter 11, and led bar-related, community, and charitable groups. He was named a leading lawyer in bankruptcy/restructuring in virtually all the relevant ranking publications. 

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of David A. Lander

Recorded on March 2, 2017, the oral history of David A. Lander was conducted by Francis X. Buckley, Jr. 

David Lander is a professor of practice at Saint Louis University Law School and he has written extensively in the fields of consumer finance and consumer counseling. He was formerly a business bankruptcy attorney and was a member of the National Bankruptcy Conference, the American College of Bankruptcy, and the Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules.  Lander is a graduate of Bowdoin College and the University of Chicago Law School. Currently, he teaches courses in lawyering process, bankruptcy, consumer finance, and commercial transactions.

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History Program of Melvin I. Orenstein and Honorable John C. Connelly​

Recorded on December 28, 2016, the oral history program featuring Melvin I. Orenstein and Honorable John C. Connelly is the latest addition to the American College of Bankruptcy’s Oral History Collection.

The oral history was conducted by James L. Baillie. What brings them together, and makes this an appropriate dual interview,  is their roles in arguably the most important bankruptcy court decision of all time, the Northern Pipeline Construction Co. versus Marathon Pipeline. Melvin Orenstein was a lawyer for Marathon throughout that entire case, up to and including the United States Supreme Court. Judge John C. Connelly was the bankruptcy judge that issued the initial order in the case. 

National Bankruptcy Archives - First Circuit Program - The Future of Retail: How Rapid Changes in the Retail Economy Are Affecting Bankruptcy Practice​

Co-sponsored by The American College of Bankruptcy First Circuit Fellow and Boston College Law School, this two-part program is moderated by Michael Goldberg of Casner & Edwards, LLP, and Part 2 is moderated by James Wallack of Goulston & Storrs PC. The panel was filmed on April 7, 2017. 

The Business Panel (Part 1) includes Kenneth Frieze, Chief Executive Officer, Gordon Brothers; Lisa Gavales, Chairman and CEO, Things Remembered; Paul Halpern, Chief Investment Officer, Versa Capital Management; Chris Weilminster, President, Mixed-Use Division, Federal Realty Investment Trust; and Mark Weinberg, Chief Financial Officer, Rue La La.

The Bankruptcy Panel (Part 2) includes Judge Sean Lane, US. Bankruptcy Court, Southern District of New York; Jacqueline Marcus, Weil Gotshal & Manges; Michael O’Hara, Consensus Advisors; David Pollack, Ballard Spahr, LLP; and  Bradford Sandler, Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones, LLP.

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of Hon. Steven Rhodes​

Interviewed by University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Law Professor, Melissa Jacoby, on March 19, 2016, the oral history of Judge Steven Rhodes is the latest addition to the American College of Bankruptcy’s Oral History Collection. 

Judge Rhodes was a bankruptcy judge for the United States Bankruptcy Court, Eastern District of Michigan. He received his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from Purdue University in 1970 and his J.D. degree from the University of Michigan in 1972. He was appointed in 1985 to the Eastern District of Michigan. Judge Rhodes served on the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel (BAP) of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit from 1997 until 2004. He was appointed to another four-year term on the BAP on January 1, 2008. Rhodes retired from the bench on December 31, 2013, and assumed senior status. He retired from his senior status position on February 18, 2015 and in 2016, began as transition manager of the Detroit Public Schools.

National Bankruptcy Archives - 4th Circuit Program - The Bankruptcy Appellate Argument: Lessons Learned from JEVIC, Best Appellate Practices in Bankruptcy Cases​

New to the NBA is the 4th Circuit Program: The Bankruptcy Appellate Argument: Lessons Learned from JEVIC, Best Appellate Practices in Bankruptcy Cases. 

Filmed on December 16, 2016, David Kuney joins a panel featuring Craig Goldblatt, Danielle Spinelli and Judges Thomas Ambro and Bernice Donald.  The topic is “The Bankruptcy Appellate Argument:  Lessons Learned from JEVIC, Best Appellate Practices in Bankruptcy Cases.” The event takes place at Covington & Burling in Washington, D.C. 

National Bankruptcy Archives - The Oral History of Hon. Elizabeth Perris​

Interviewed by S. Ward Greene on October 10, 2015, the oral history of Judge Elizabeth Perris is the latest addition to the American College of Bankruptcy’s Oral History Collection. Honorable Elizabeth L. Perris was a federal bankruptcy judge for the United States Bankruptcy Court, District of Oregon. Judge Perris received her undergraduate degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1972 and her J.D. from the University of California, Davis in 1975. She was appointed to the court in 1984 and retired in 2015 from the bench.