LibGuides: Library Resources for SJD Students: Resources for Legal Research

Resources for Legal Research

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Research platform that combines traditional legal resources with Bloomberg's suite of business analytical tools and reports. Create an account using your law school email address. Law School Access Only.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, PDF documents for law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; a variety of Foreign and International material; and many more resources.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals 1985 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. Documents include articles, reports, essays, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
An index of more than 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications. As the books in the database are quite limited, you are likely to have greater success searching for books in the online catalogs, Franklin and Search Center.

LexisNexis (Lexis+)
Comprehenive resource for primary and secondary U.S. legal materials. Includes access to articles from many major newspapers and some business resources. Individual logins available only to current Penn Law faculty, students, and staff. Contact a reference librarian for assistance.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present.

ProQuest Legislative Insight
ProQuest Legislative Insight provides federal legislative history materials, including full-text Public Laws, all versions of related bills, related excerpts from the Congressional Record, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and other related Congressional publications. All materials are available in text-searchable PDF. Coverage varies.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight
Collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs; also includes certiorari denied.

vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
Global legal database containing full text constitutions, legislation and statutory codes, law journals, newspapers, treatises and other sources. Materials are available in 13 languages and cover 134 countries, with particular emphasis on Spanish, Portugese and Latin American law. Law School Access Only.
Westlaw (U.S.) This link opens in a new window
Access to case law, court documents, federal and state statutes, administrative rules and regulations, law reviews, treatises, legal encyclopedias, forms and public records, and collections for legal practice areas. Requires account. Contact a reference librarian for assistance. Law School Access Only.