Each federal government document has a unique classification number called a SuDoc number. SuDoc numbers indicate the issuing agency, the office, the type of document, and the individual item. For example:
I 29.9/5: 139
Knowing the SuDoc number of a title will help you find the document in another library if Biddle does not have it. A Reference Librarian can assist you.
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (MoCAT): A print index to federal publications published from 1895 to approximately 2004. For publications issued prior to 1976, the printed Monthly Catalog should be consulted. For publications published after 1976, consult the electronic Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP). This index is available in paper for the years 1931 to 2001 in the Reference Stacks located near the Reference Desk in Biddle [REF Z 1223 .A18].
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP): Originally the online equivalent to the Monthly Catalog, the CGP has now replaced the Monthly Catalog. The CGP provides catalog information to print and electronic federal publications. CGP also provides links to publications available online. While coverage currently begins in 1976, coverage will eventually date back to the late 1800s. Basic and advanced search options are available.
Online: http://catalog.gpo.gov/F
Biddle owns all CIS indexes to federal legislative history materials, including the CIS Index, Abstracts, and Legislative Histories.
ProQuest Congressional and Legislative Insight:
ProQuest Congressional is a database containing all the CIS legislative history indexes from 1970, including the full text of many recent legislative history documents. Available to Penn affiliates through ProQuest Congressional.
The CIS Abstracts and CIS Legislative Histories volumes’ contents are also available to Penn Law affiliates on Lexis, in the LEGIS library, CISLH file.
Another useful database is Proquest Legislative Insight. This database provides federal legislative history materials, including full-text Public Laws, all versions of related bills, related excerpts from the Congressional Record, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, and other related Congressional publications. All materials are available in text-searchable PDF. Coverage varies. Proquest Legislative Insight is selective, overing only significant legislation.