Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Quick Note about Lexis Nexis and Westlaw
The main databases used for American law research are excellent for some jurisdictions (e.g. the UK, Canada and Australia), and not as good for others (particularly non-English speaking countries in the global south). For most jurisdictions, they will only offer a handful of law reviews or other secondary sources. Check the available content, but do not be surprised if there is very little, and turn instead to a specialized database, government site, or other tool recommended by the research guidance you've found.
Some Major Databases for Multinational Research
A good research guide, research manual or finding tool will help you identify the right database or website for finding the law, many of which will be accessible through Biddle's E-Resource list. These are just some of the most frequently-used sources for multi-national research.
ICRC National Implementation of IHL Database
This database aims to share information on national implementation measures collected by the Advisory Service of the International Committee of the Red Cross and provided to it by States. It contains laws and case law that implement IHL treaties and other related international instruments and illustrates possible approaches to incorporating IHL in national legal and administrative frameworks.
NatLaw World (formerly InterAm)
Collection of laws, regulations, case law, and secondary source materials for countries in the Americas. This collection provides the original Spanish or Portuguese-language material, but includes an increasing number of English translations. It is updated daily and divided into 25 topical areas related to trade and investment.
The database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation maintained by the ILO's International Labour Standards Department. Records in NATLEX provide abstracts of legislation and relevant citation information, and they are indexed by keywords and by subject classifications. Each record in NATLEX appears in only one of the three ILO official languages (English/French/Spanish). Where possible, the full text of the law or a relevant electronic source is linked to the record.
vLex is a global legal database containing full text constitutions, legislation and statutory codes, law journals, newspapers, treatises and other sources. Materials are available in 13 languages and cover 134 countries, with particular emphasis on Spanish, Portugese and Latin American law.
The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility offering access to free legal information for most countries and regions of the world. Depth of coverage will vary by jurisdiction.
For a guide to the best databases for a given country, consult a good research guide, the Foreign Law Guide, or NYU's list of databases by country. Please not that some will have little or no content in English, and will require that you read the native language in order to make use of it.
Some of the main country- or region-specific databases Biddle subscribes to are listed here. Most do not require a separate login/password, but please email Gabriela Femenia if you have access issues, or would like help navigating the database.
China Law Info
ChinaLawInfo is a full-text, Chinese-language database covering Chinese laws, regulations, legal essays, legal gazettes and other legal information. Most coverage dates back to 1949. LawInfoChina provides English-language translations of Chinese legal material, although this database is less comprehensive. Link defaults to Chinese-language site. Select "English" in the top right-hand corner to access the English version.
Collection of Chinese government materials including laws, regulations, tax information, judicial decisions, and other legal documents. Government sources include the National People's Congress, the State Council, the Supreme Court, the Ministry of Justice, Finance and other ministries, the State Environmental Protection Administration, and other departments and offices. Available in Chinese and translated into English.
Westlaw China is a bilingual database of Chinese law, and contains comprehensive laws, regulations, cases and selected model contracts and legal journals. Provides more than 860,000 laws and regulations promulgated by Chinese government agencies at the central, provincial, municipal and autonomous region levels since 1949. The database also contains more than 900,000 cases sourced from the Supreme Peoples Court and local courts in 31 provinces, municipalities and autonomous regions, as well as special courts such as maritime courts. (Please note: Westlaw China merged with iSinolaw in February 2012, and retains all iSinolaw content.)
Provides comprehensive and up-to-date legal content for Japan, including laws, ordinances, legislative minutes, administrative regulations, cases, case comments and secondary sources. In Japanese. Requires password. Please ask a librarian for assistance
Lexis360 France (Formerly JurisClasseur)
Offers full text of legislation and case law from France, as well as encyclopedias, comprising over 400,000 pages of commentary on French law. A wide selection of journals is also available. All material is exclusively in French, as are the databases search functions.
Provides full text access to the following UK reports: The Law Reports (1865-present), The Weekly Law Reports (1953-present), The Industrial Cases Reports (1972-present), The Business Law Reports (2007-present), and The Public & Third Sector Law Reports (2009-present). Also includes access to Citator+, which includes index information for each case containing the case's appellate history and current status.
Full text online legal library of UK, Irish, and EU case law dating back to 1163 with legislation from 1235.
Provides access to India case law, legislation, regulations, ordinances, bills, and some secondary material.
SCC Online (India Supreme Court Cases Online)
Provides coverage of primary law and secondary law sources for conducting Indian legal research; complete coverage of the Supreme Court of India, All State and District High Courts, Privy Council, Historical Courts, Tribunals and Commissions, Statutory Material, & Indian Legislation; Includes Foreign Jurisdictions from North America, Africa and Asia, and international materials. To access SCC Online Web Edition, type in your @law.upenn.edu email address as login under IP Access on the right. No password is required. Limit to 5 concurrent.