International Arbitration Research: Home

A collection of edited contributions by lawyers, arbitrators and political scientists on the development of the concept of the State in a field of Investor-State Arbitration.

To address some of the criticisms against investor-state dispute settlement, a large majority of states have taken a 'normative' strategy with investment treaties by including provisions that potentially give more control and greater involvement to the contracting parties, and notably the home state. This is particularly true of agreements concluded in the past fifteen years. At the same time, there is a potential revival of the 'remnants' of diplomatic protection that are embedded in investment treaties since the beginning of the system. The book asks why the home state being brought back into a domain from which it was expressly excluded several decades ago.

Focusing on early ISDS lawsuits and rulings, it is revealed how a small group of lawyers and arbitrators worked to create the legal foundations for massive growth of ISDS since 2000. ISDS-based protections are examined in detail to demonstrate how they give exceptional advantages to the wealthy.Various examples are also offered of how the protections have been used to reconfigure state decision-making and shift sovereign minds in favour of foreign investors. Lastly, the ongoing efforts of governments to reform ISDS are surveyed, with a call to go further or, best of all, to withdraw from the treaties.

International Commercial Arbitration third Edition is an authoritative treatise providing the most complete available commentary and analysis on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. This completely revised and expanded edition of Gary Born's authoritative work is divided into three main parts, dealing with the International Arbitration Agreement, International Arbitral Procedures and International Arbitral Awards. The third edition provides a systematic framework for both current analysis and future developments, as well as exhaustive citations from all leading legal systems.

Foreign direct investment ("FDI") is a key pillar of the world's global economy. International investment law comprises the rules regarding the protection of investors engaging in FDI activities. This book summarizes the current legal regime of international investment protection and the challenges that lie ahead of it. Its ambition is to provide a concise introduction to the key substantive and procedural standards of international investment protection.

The vitality or, alternatively, vitiation of the international arbitral process remains a pressing subject. The explosion of inter-State, investor-State, and international commercial arbitration in recent years magnifies the importance of the subject. This second edition combines the historical analysis of the first edition with a survey of the continued salience and contemporary developments for each of the three problems identified: (i) the severability of the arbitration agreement; (ii) denial of justice (and now other possible breaches of international law) by governmental negation of arbitration; and (iii) the authority of truncated international arbitral tribunals. The international arbitral process continues to be fortified against unilateral attempts to derail it and, to that end, this book will be a valuable guide for practitioners and scholars alike.

The numerous arbitral regimes around the world differ in subtle yet complex ways. These variations can have a profound effect on the procedural rights and obligations of the parties. Broadly speaking, the choice of regime will impact the way in which an arbitration is conducted; its duration and expense; the outcome of the dispute; and the ultimate enforceability of the award. To inform the parties' choice, this book is the first to deal specifically and in depth with a broad range of institutional and ad hoc arbitration rules on a comparative basis. It provides a practical guide to the rules in one book--a one-stop shop--from a distinctly "rule" and "guide" point of view. This book has its genesis in the authors' experience as practitioners and educators in international commercial and investor-state arbitration--and as advisers to, and trainers for, arbitral institutions, arbitrators, judges and government officials around the world. This comprehensive, descriptive and analytical "road map" covers the broad range of issues addressed in nine representative major sets of arbitration rules. The authors detail the distinct ways in which rules governing such important issues as the following may differ among the various arbitral regimes: the governance structure and role of the administering institutions in the arbitration, including case management and administrative support; the critical and recommended issues to be established in the agreement to arbitrate, such as the place of arbitration and the governing law among others; the requirements and best practices for starting the arbitration on the right foot; the procedures for selecting, appointing and challenging arbitrators; the impact of the initial procedural conference on the proceedings; the rules on presenting the case in chief: written submissions, documentary evidence, witness and expert testimony and more; the costs and fees of leading institutions; the procedures and standards for award scrutiny and enforceability; and a range of special and innovative procedures such as expedited proceedings, interim relief and consolidation of proceedings. The comparative analysis is organized around the chronological phases of an international arbitration and supported by rule comparison tables and clear explanations of each step of the process. With this eminently practical book, contract negotiators, counsel and arbitrators can confidently navigate any international arbitration. Thorough coverage of the applicable rules and guidelines enables parties and/or the tribunal to design bespoke arbitration procedures based upon the various rules of leading regimes. Arbitral institutions can survey the different approaches and identify emerging best practices in the design and drafting of arbitral regimes. All in all, this volume is a useful guide and comprehensive framework of rules for both arbitration practitioners and users of arbitration services, as well as for students and teachers of international arbitration.

Arbitration has become the dispute resolution method of choice in international transactions. This book provides the reader with immediate access to understanding the world of international arbitration, explaining how and why arbitration works. It provides the legal and regulatory framework for international arbitration, as well as practical strategies to follow and pitfalls to avoid. It is short and readable, but comprehensive in its coverage of the basic requirements, including the most recent changes in arbitration laws, rules, and guidelines. The third edition includes new sections on state to state arbitration, the role and power of the arbitrator, reform efforts in international investment treaties, transparency in international arbitration and third party funding. In the book, the author includes insights from numerous international arbitrators and counsel, who tell firsthand about their own experiences of arbitration and their views of best practices. Throughout the book, the principles of arbitration are supported and explained by the practice, providing a concrete approach to an important means of resolving disputes.