LibGuides: Resources for Research Assistants: E-Resources

Search Our Catalog

Law E-Resources

Biddle Law Library provides access to a large number of electronic resources for legal research, from multi-subject, multi-jurisdictional databases such as those below, to highly specialized resources for an individual area of law or a specific jurisdiction. Biddle Law Library's Electronic Resources: A to Z page links to many of these e-resources alphabetically, or they can be browsed by subject matter on Biddle Law Library's Electronic Resources by Subject.

Please note that these pages are not exhaustive, and Biddle may well have additional e-resources in the area of your faculty member's interest. Search Biddle Catalog by subject for additional options, or consult a reference librarian for advice on more resources as well as training in using them.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Research platform that combines traditional legal resources with Bloomberg's suite of business analytical tools and reports. Create an account using your law school email address.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, PDF documents for law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; a variety of Foreign and International material; and many more resources.

Lexis Plus
Comprehenive resource for primary and secondary U.S. legal materials. Includes access to articles from many major newspapers and some business resources. Individual logins available only to current Penn Law faculty, students, and staff. Contact a reference librarian for assistance.

Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window
Access to case law, court documents, federal and state statutes, administrative rules and regulations, law reviews, treatises, legal encyclopedias, forms and public records, and collections for legal practice areas. Account available to only current Penn Carey Law faculty, students, and staff. Contact a reference librarian for assistance.

Interdisciplinary E-Resources

Penn Libraries provides a vast amount of electronic resources for research beyond the field of law. If you are interested in research in various disciplines, browsing the Penn Libraries' Subject Collections can point you toward the most relevant databases and titles for your research purposes.

Multi-Disciplinary E-Resources

A number of electronic resources allow the researcher to search across disciplines. Some examples are found below, and additional databases, e-journals and electronic reference tools are available through Penn Libraries' E-Resources page.

EBSCO MegaFILE
A large database of full-text articles covering all scholarly disciplines. Includes bibliographic citations, indexes, and abstracts for over 16,000 periodicals. Also includes popular magazines and news sources.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes the full text of scholarly literature in a wide range of research areas and includes pointers to books, articles in peer-reviewed journals, preprints, and technical reports. Links in Google Scholar may direct users to the publisher's website to pay for access. Instead, use Google Scholar through the link above to see full-text materials provided by Penn Libraries within your Google Scholar search results.
ISI Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
A index of citation references for over 8,500 academic journals.

Subject-Specific E-Resources

Penn Libraries' E-Resources page also helpfully provides access to electronic resources according to area of study, allowing access to a variety of specialized databases, e-journals and websites from a single page. Some commonly-referenced disciplines include: