Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives of Biddle Law Library preserves, promotes, and provides access to the archives of The American Law Institute (ALI), and the National Bankruptcy Archives (NBA), as well as a collection of rare books, manuscripts, and Penn Law historic records.

**Beginning 3/12/2020 Biddle Archives is canceling all on-site research visits until further notice and will have limited availability for remote research requests.

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives of Biddle Law Library preserves, promotes, and provides access to the the papers and records of two major legal organizations: The American Law Institute (ALI), and the National Bankruptcy Archives. The archives also house Penn Law's historic records and a number of smaller collections, including the personal papers of early Penn Law Dean and ALI co-founder William Draper Lewis, Penn Law graduate and Philadelphia lawyer Bernard G. Segal, and United States Court of Appeals Judge David L. Bazelon. A collection of records from the law school includes the notes of various 19th century professors and students, minutes of the Alumni Society, and photographs. Paper and electronic finding aids are available online and by request.

For more information on the collections: 

Policies and Procedures

Use of the Biddle Law Library Archives is by appointment only. Some collections are stored off-site and so researchers should schedule their visits no less than 48 hours in advance of their intended research dates. 

Contact

For questions concerning the Archives, the Rare Books Collection, or other special collections at Biddle, please contact:

Mailing Address: 

 University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School
 Biddle Law Library - Archives Department
 3460 Chestnut Street
 Philadelphia, PA 19104-3406

Email:  biddlearchives@law.upenn.edu

 

Note: Email is preferred.

Visitor Information - By appointment

Location Hours**

University of Pennsylvania Law School

Monday                    9:30 - 4:00
Biddle Law Library Tuesday                   9:30 - 4:00
251 Tanenbaum Hall Wednesday              9:30 - 4:00
3501 Sansom Street Thursday                  9:30 - 4:00
Philadelphia, PA 19104 Friday                       9:30 - 4:00
215-898-5011 Saturday                  Closed
biddlearchives@law.upenn.edu Sunday                    Closed

Social Media