Archives and Special Collections

The Archives of Biddle Law Library preserves, promotes, and provides access to the the papers and records of two major legal organizations: The American Law Institute (ALI), and the National Bankruptcy Archives. The archives also include the Biddle Collections. The Biddle Collections contain Penn Carey Law's historic records, manuscripts, photographs, rare books, local or regional legal history collections, and alumni papers. This includes the personal papers of early Penn Carey Law Dean and ALI co-founder William Draper Lewis, Penn Carey Law graduate and Philadelphia lawyer Bernard G. Segal, and United States Court of Appeals Judge David L. Bazelon.  Paper and electronic finding aids are available online and by request.

For more information on the collections: 

  Search all of Biddle's online finding aids

 Click here for more information on how to search the collections

Visits to the Archives and Special Collections Department are by appointment only, Tuesday through Friday, 10am to 4pm. 

Please click here for all Archives and Special Collections Department Policies, including:

• Research appointments and collection access
• Statement regarding harmful content or language
• Remote research
• Duplication or digitization services
• Collection policies

For questions concerning the National Bankruptcy Archives, the American Law Institute archives, Penn Carey Law historic records, the Rare Books collection, or other special collections at Biddle, please contact biddlearchives@law.upenn.edu. The Archives and Special Collections Department is located on the 4th floor of Tanenbaum Hall within the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School. 

• Mailing Address: University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School, Biddle Law Library - Archives Department, 3460 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3406
• Email: biddlearchives@law.upenn.edu